In the Media


CANBERRA CITYNEWS COVER STORY

  • Publication: Canberra CityNews citynews.com.au
  • Issue: 4-10 February, 2021
  • Distribution: Canberra and Queanbeyan, Australia
  • Readership: 75,000/week
  • Read Article: Read the full article online here
how food is made citynews city news canberra
how food is made citynews city news canberra

MILTON ULLADULLA TIMES NEWS STORY

  • Publication: Milton Ulladulla Times newspaper ulladullatimes.com.au
  • Issue: 14 April 2021, Page 5
  • Distribution: Milton-Ulladulla, Australia
  • Readership: 6,900/week
  • Read Article: Read the full article online here
milton ulladulla times ayla marika

2GB SYDNEY RADIO INTERVIEW

  • Radio Station: 2GB 873AM2gb.com
  • Show: Afternoons with Deborah Knight
  • Date: 28 April 2021, 2:20pm (~7min)
  • Region: Sydney, Australia
  • Listenership: 600,000+ per week
  • Listen: Listen to the full interview onlinehere

ABC RADIO BRISBANE RADIO INTERVIEW

  • Radio Station: ABC Radio Brisbane 612AM abc.net.au/brisbane
  • Show: Afternoons with Katherine Feeney
  • Date: 22 April 2021, 1:45pm (~8min)
  • Region: Brisbane, Australia
  • Listenership: 10,000+
  • Listen: Show details availablehere(audio expired)

ABC RADIO CANBERRA RADIO INTERVIEW

  • Radio Station: ABC Radio Canberra 666AMabc.net.au/canberra
  • Show: Drive with Anna Vidot (interviewed by Georgia Stynes)
  • Date: Thur 28 January 2021, 4:35pm (~12min)
  • Region: Canberra, Australia
  • Listenership: 10,000+
  • Listen: Show details availablehere(audio expired)

2CC CANBERRA RADIO INTERVIEW

  • Radio Station: 2CC Talking Canberra 1206AM2cc.net.au
  • Show: Canberra Live with Leon Delaney
  • Date: 4 February 2021, 3:50pm (~8min) – interview starts at approx 15min in
  • Region: Canberra and Queanbeyan, Australia
  • Listenership: 10,000+
  • Listen: Listen to the full interview onlinehere

PRESS RELEASE CURRENT


HOW HOT DOGS ARE MADE PROMO VIDEO

  • Release date: 6 April 2021
  • Description: A short animation showing how hot dogs are made, including sausage, bread roll, mustard and ketchup
  • YouTube views: 4,000+

BOOK LAUNCH LIVE VIDEO

  • Launch date: 30 January 2021
  • Location: Smith’s Alternative, Canberra City (Australia)

FACEBOOK/INSTAGRAM AD CURRENT

  • Release date: 13 February 2021

Customer Reviews


AMAZON REVIEWS

Note: Amazon.com.au (Australia) reviews do not display on the Amazon.com (USA) page. You can view these reviews on Amazon Australia here.

Victoria Collins
★★★★★ Fun and informative – an invaluable resource to reconnect with what you eat
Reviewed in Australia on 17 January 2021
Verified Purchase

I was most interested in this book to guide healthy food choices by better understanding what I’m consuming, in regards to the chemicals and processes that affect my gut health and which foods are closest to their natural state. I was even more pleasantly surprised however to find it helped me connect with food at a deeper level, understanding where it all comes from, what it is in it’s pure form and how much additive is involved. There are also interesting tid bits about the environmental impact of production processes.

You can use this book just by flicking to relevant parts now and then, or reading cover-to-cover. The simple, no frills presentation with professional style makes it a light and informative resource I’d recommend to anyone wanting to be food conscious or educate their family. Ideal for new years resolutions! see review

Tim Duck
★★★★★ Fun and informative
Reviewed in Australia on 14 January 2021
Verified Purchase

This book is great, and contains some really interesting info. Most of us would benefit from being more in touch with where our food comes from and this book addresses that issue for common foods.

I love the graphic format for conveying information easily and efficiently and this book strikes a good balance between the visual aspect and the supporting text, making it great for either a casual browse, or a more in-depth read through. see review

Damien
★★★★★ Amazingly informative with great pictures!
Reviewed in Australia on 21 January 2021
Verified Purchase

This book is just great. Suitable for all ages. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and learning some hard truths about certain food production. The pictures and diagrams are really helpful, and enabled my toddler to enjoy the book too! Well written and researched, easy and fun to read. Would highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to learn more about food production, would make a great gift too see review

Emily Duck
★★★★★ An interesting read!
Reviewed in Australia on 25 January 2021
Verified Purchase

A great book! Well thought out, visually appealing and accessible for many age groups. It has very interesting information about food and the processes involved in making them. The graphics and layout make the information easily digestible. An easy book to read in sections if you prefer. Would also make a great gift! see review

Andrea Aranguiz
★★★★★ Interesting reading
Reviewed in Australia on 21 February 2021
Verified Purchase

Great book and graphics, learnt a lot about how food is produce and how is made. The title says it all
I totally recommend it
Interesting findings 🙂 see review

Kindle Customer
★★★★★ Phenomenal reference book to have on your shelf.
Reviewed in Australia on 12 February 2021

Great for anyone who eats food and is curious about it.
This book is easy to ready, fun and I learnt a lot from it.
I loved the combination of infographics, facts and history – somehow I retain much more with these different ways of conveying information.
Each two page spread takes about 3-5 minutes to read and understand – perfect bite sized chunks!
My youngest is 6 and loves it for a bit of night time reading. It does take a little extra explaining to someone that age but well worth the time. see review


GOODREADS REVIEWS

You can view these reviews on Goodreads here.

Alaena rated it ★★★★★
Feb 14, 2021

A super interesting look into the process in which everyday products are made. Absolutely worth the read! Came with some shocks as the truth behind some foods was uncovered, providing insight into the journey a product takes before it ends up on the shelf. Definitely recommend to anybody interested in food- or if you’re just keen to find out what goes on behind the scenes of production, with comprehensible (and fun!) flow charts and designs 🙂 see review


HOW FOOD IS MADE WEBSITE REVIEWS

These reviews have been submitted on this website by customers directly and can be viewed in their original context here.

Simply WOW
★★★★★ 1 February 2021

A friend recently recommended How Foods is Made by Ayla Marika and it is hands down one of the most factual and interestingly presented books in this field. As a self confessed “foodie” who appreciates what fuel I put into my body I highly recommend.
-Beatriz jesus

Fascinating book that’s easy to read
★★★★★ 1 February 2021

A lovely book full of fascinating, well researched information. Great as a coffee table book to pick up and put down but also easy enough to read fully in a sitting or two.
Very nice layout with great pictures and diagrams that helps with understanding the processed involved in the production of the various foods and beverages. Lovely feel to the cover is a nice touch too.
Highly recommended 😊
-Andrew

Entertaining insights
★★★★★ 22 December 2020

Loved this. Beautifully written and illustrated, and some eye-openers about food production, that’s for sure.
-Evan

Informative & interesting
★★★★★ 12 December 2020

The graphics make this fact filled text fun & informative. It should appeal to a wide audience easy to read from primary school age upwards. We enjoyed reading the history section which proved to be informative & entertaining. Well researched & presented in an eye catching format.
-Denise

Informative book with wonderful illustrations
★★★★★ 7 December 2020

This book immediately attracts your eye through the wonderful illustrations, striking graphic design and quality presentation.
It is filled with interesting information and a brief history of everyday foods, with something to interest people of all age groups. It would be a great resource for individual learning or group discussion, as well as for those interested in food and nutrition.
-Louise